top of page


Since 2014, We are the leading racial equity organization in far western North Carolina

About our Branch
Ours is a timeless organization that is ever reminding us all of our humanity. With a goal to erase racism, this organization works to disrupt, challenge and correct the effects of hatred and bigotry based on race. Our Branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People serves the people of Jackson, Swain and Macon counties with services for people in Clay, Cherokee and Graham counties.

The Jackson County Branch #54AB of the North Carolina NAACP officially commenced in May, 2014, becoming the county’s first local branch in the national NAACP’s hundred-year history. Currently our membership is comprised of not only Jackson County residents, but also—until their counties organize a branch—active affiliates in Macon and Swain counties. The Reverend Charles Lee, pastor of Sylva’s Liberty Baptist Church, was its first president.

We are dedicated to the pursuit and achievement of equality. Help us create a more just world!

Liberty Baptist.jpeg


Our mission is to achieve equity, political rights, and social inclusion by advancing policies and practices that expand human and civil rights, eliminate discrimination, and accelerate the well-being, education, and economic security of Black people and all persons of color.


We envision an inclusive community rooted in liberation where all persons can exercise their civil and human rights without discrimination.


Branch Officers

President - LaShonda L. Eaddy, Ph.D.
1st Vice President - Amy McKenzie
2nd Vice President - Marti Newbold
Secretary - Michelle Cooper, Ph.D.
Assistant Secretary - Enrique Gomez, Ph.D.
Treasurer - Carol Hogue, Ph.D.

Committee Leadership
Communications, Press & Publicity (interim) Chair - Marti Newbold
Community Coordination Committee (interim) Chair - LaShonda L. Eaddy
Education Committee Chair - Vacant
Health & Wellness Committee Chair: Judy Seago
Legal Redress Chair – Louis Lynn Hogue, PhD, JD
Political Action Chair - Vacant
Religious Affairs Chair - Sara Hinnant
At-Large Director - Kathleen Brennan, Ph.D.
At-Large Director - Dan Kowal

bottom of page